Matcha Madeleines

It probably is one of the most used stereotypes that is in fact true… British people love tea. You honestly can’t beat a good cup of tea. However it is not only the pot of tea that I so love, but the tradition of tea and all the goodies that go with it. I mentioned in my previous post for chocolate fudge cookies that growing up I developed and affinity for tea. Initially it was regular breakfast tea with milk and two sugars. I would dunk my biscuits in it and more often than not leave it for too long, leading it to break off and me having to search through the murky golden waters of my teacup for it with my teaspoon. It honestly wasn’t until a couple of years ago that I discovered my taste for green tea. Initially I was drawn to it for the health benefits and the caffeine. But since then I’ve grown to appreciate the subtlety of pure green tea, unadulterated by milk and sugar. I usually drink two cups of green tea a day, sandwiched in between, I have a cup of black coffee. For me personally it’s the right balance of caffeine that doesn’t leave me jittering and over the edge. It was then on a trip to Harvey Nichols’s 5th floor where I discovered Matcha…

I buy a lot of my tea from teapigs especially their Yerba Mate. But I had never tried their Matcha, I must admit that my first experience with it was somewhat awkward. It was probably the fact that I hadn’t bought a whisk and just ended up with lumpy bits of powder in hot water. But once I got the hand of making and developed my taste for it I was hooked! Not only could I just drink it as a tea, I decided to be adventurous and start trying to incorporate it into recipes. This was one of the very first recipes I attempted and still one of my favourites. Matcha Madeleines. Madeleines are one of the ultimate tea cakes. Their soft buttery texture accompanies your choice of tea to perfection. So combining the two seemed like a natural fit. I mean you’re getting your cue fix and your tea fix all in one right? So Here’s an interesting recipe to try if you love green tea and want to explore how to add it to your bakes.

Teapigs Matcha Madeleines

Prep time 30mins
Chill time 3+ hours
Cook time 15 minutes

INGREDIENTS

2 eggs (room temperature)
1/2 cup unsalted butter
2/3 cup caster sugar
1 cup plain flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbs. Matcha
1 tbs milk

Teapigs Matcha Madeleines

METHOD

Begin greasing and flour your madeleine trays with some butter and set aside.

  1. Start by melting your butter in a small saucepan over a low to medium heat to make sure it doesn’t burn. Once melted leave aside to cool slightly.
  2. In a large bowl sift together the sugar, flour, salt, baking powder and your matcha.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk togeth your two eggs and the milk until light and frothy.
  4. Add the egg/milk mixture to your dry ingredients half a cup at a time stirring until combined before each addition.
  5. Slowly add the cooled melted butter and hand mix until well combined but not over mixed.
  6. Cover your bowl with plastic wrap and leave to chill in for fridge from a minimum of 3 hours.

    When ready start preheating your oven to 375F/190°c.

  7.  Remove madeleine batter from the fridge and spoon into the prepared tray. Place in oven and bake for approximately 12-15minutes (depending on the heat of your oven) The madeleines are ready when the sides are slightly browned and they are springy to the touch.
  8. Remove from the oven and leave to cool on rack for a few minutes before serving.

Enjoy! As with all Madeleines these are best served warm right out of the oven.

Teapigs Matcha Madeleines

Remember if you try this recipe I always enjoy seeing what you’ve baked so send me pictures of your bake on Instagram @cakesthebiscuit or on Twitter @cakes_biscuit hashtag #cakesthebiscuit. Happy Baking!

7 comments on “Matcha Madeleines

  1. I absolutely love matcha! I always take the opportunity to order dishes and drinks with the flavor. Never heard of a matcha madeleine, but putting those two different items together sound so divine! Yum! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

