Apple & Cinnamon Muffins

In my last post I spoke about childhood memories and comfort food. This next post follows in the same light, in the manner of comfort food. I wouldn’t say that I have any one particular favourite fruit, but I do enjoy strawberries, or strawberry flavoured food stuffs the most. But then there are so many exotic fruits. I love dragon fruit, and kiwis! With the globalisation of the food market you can go into any grocery store and find a plethora of different fruits and vegetables. You can even get super fruits like Goji and Acai berries, and who doesn’t want super fruits. Amongst all these glamourous choices it is often forgotten humble Apple.

For centuries the humble Apple tree has been grown and cultivated for it’s fruit. It’s begins spread from central Asia, through to Europe and across the Atlantic into the Americas’. The Apple is no plain Jane. It has thousands of different species and has many cultural, religious and mythological significances right around the globe. Perhaps because it was one of the earliest trees to be cultivated, the Apple has had the advantage of selective breeding over centuries leading to today’s wide variety. And there in lies the beauty of the Apple. There are so many types of apples, which means there are so many different way to use Apples within baking!

There was a dozen golden delicious apples on sale from my local green grocers. I would have walked straight pass it, had not it been for a series of meteorological events. On that particular day in London it had been dastardly cloudy with intermittent showers. And not just a down pour which did happen around noon, but those horrible patchy spitting showers that serve no purpose what so ever. Other than to ruin your mood and outfit of course. It’s suppose to be in the middle of summer but it felt like autumn (Fall for my lovely American readers). And I know it’s just an old wives tale but I was getting drenched on my way home and being a bit of a hypercondriac didn’t want to come down with a cold. There’ are few worse things than getting a cold or the flu when it’s summer! As I was a few meters from passing the shop there was a break in the weather and it was that moment I thought “Hey Rae! Perhaps you should buy some fruit to boost your immune system. You know Oranges and… Apples”. The apples caught my eye. I’m still not entirely sure why I bought a dozen, I’m going to put that down to my irrational state of mind when it hits hypercondriac mode. So there I was walking home with 12 apples. I mean after all an apple a day keeps the doctor away right? So by my reasoning I was good for 12 days.

Day 4 of eating an apple a day and it was getting old… fast. Now this is where the apple becomes a super fruit in it own right. Why? Because you can bake SO MANY THINGS with apples! If you’ve been reading my blog regularly, firstly thank you you’re awesome, secondly you would know of my love for pie. Any kind of pie. I really love pie. So an Apple pie would be perfect right? Wrong. I didn’t have butter. The weather didn’t cease and I didn’t want to go out in the rain. So I palmed though my recipe folder and found this butter free gem. Apple and Cinnamon Muffins. Oh the delight! This is a super easy recipe and produces the most apple packed muffins you have probably eaten.

Prep time 15 minutes
Cook time approximately 20 minutes
Makes 18 medium sized muffins

Golden Delicious Apples

INGREDIENTS

3 medium sized apples peeled and diced.
2 cups brown sugar
2 medium eggs
3 cups of plain flour
1 cup of vegetable oil
1 tbs vanilla essence
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon

Golden Delicious Apples

METHOD

Begin by preheating your oven to 350F/180°c. Then line a muffin tin with your muffin cases and set aside.

  1. In a large bowl sift together the flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon until combined.
  2. In a separate bowl cream together the eggs sugar, vanilla essence and vegetable oil until a smooth creamy texture forms. Add the flour mixture and stir until the batter is thick and well incorporated.
  3. Add your diced apples a little at a time to ensure a good dispersal of fruit. As the batter is thick it makes it difficult to stir so putting all the fruit in one go means you’d end up with large clusters of apple pieces and little batter.
  4. Spoon the mixture into the muffin cases 3/4 of the way. top with a sprinkling of brown sugar and place into the oven for approximately 20 minutes (depending on your oven).
  5. Once golden remove and leave to cool on cooling rack before serving.

DSC_1239

Apple and Cinnamon Muffins

Apple and Cinnamon Muffins

And there you go a butter free moist and apple filled muffin. The cinnamon gives it that flavourful punch complements the apple so well! I used golden delicious apples in this bake but you can use any apple you like if you have a preference. These muffins are best served warm so don’t expect them to hang around for long after you’ve baked them.

Remember if you try this recipe I always enjoy seeing what you’ve baked so send me pictures of your bake on Instagram  @cakesthebiscuit or on Twitter @cakes_biscuit hashtag #cakesthebiscuit. Happy Baking!

9 comments on “Apple & Cinnamon Muffins

Leave a Reply

