Gooseberry Pie

I know this is the second post with gooseberries, but as always I’m a big advocate against food wastage and that bush in my garden is darn huge. Don’t worry this will be the last of my posts as I use up the last berries for the season.

We’re making pie! Again… But I love pie. So much. Any kind of pie really. Again this was a first in terms of fruit pies, as I have never used gooseberries in a pie before but I was pleasantly surprised. And with the way the Gooseberry and Almond Mini Cakes turned out so delicious, I thought what could go wrong?

I don’t think I’ve ever seen pie advertised. That’s how you know it’s good. They advertise ice cream and other desserts. They advertise the bejeezus out of yogurt, but I haven’t seen one pie commercial. – Adam Carolla

And I wasn’t wrong at all! If you a pie fan as much as I am, this is a great but different fruit to try. The sweet-sour berries work in perfect harmony with the crunch shortcrust of the pastry and the added sweetness of sugar. Once again I have opted to use Tate+Lyle’s Mediterranean Inspired Light Soft Brown sugar for this as the soft buttery taste only enhances the gooseberries.

So are you ready to try a gooseberry pie?

Prep time 25 minutes
Cooking time is approximately 40-45 minutes
Makes One 9 inch pie all for yourself

DSC_0729

INGREDIENTS

500g gooseberries
1 tbs water
300g brown sugar
35g plain flour
1/4 tsp nutmeg (grounded)
1 tbs milk

Shortcrust Pastry
280g plain flour
1/2 tsp salt
150g shortening
7 tbs chilled water

DSC_0730

PASTRY METHOD

Pastry for Double-Crust Pie
Mix together plain flour and salt in a medium sized mixing bowl. Dust your hands with flour and cut in shortening until a crumble type texture. Separate the mixture into two parts in the bowl, then add one tablespoon of chilled water over part of the mixture. Use a fork to carefully toss the crumbs and then combine the moistened dough to the other side of the bowl. Repeat the process, each time adding 1 tablespoon of chilled water. Once the dough is completely moistened cut in half and roll into two separate balls.

PIE FILLING METHOD

Begin by preheating the oven to 350F/180°c, gas mark 4, and grease you pie dish with some butter. Roll out your pastry to form the bottom of your pie and place in the dish. Set aside.

1. Put your gooseberries a small saucepan and add 1 tablespoon of water. Cook over medium-low heat stirring occasionally. The berries will be ready for the next stage when they split their skins and “pop”.
2. Add the sugar, flour and nutmeg to the gooseberries and stir until the mixture begins to bubble.
3. Pour the mixture into your pasty lined pie dish.
4.The next part allows for artistic licence. Roll out your remaining pasty and and form the top covering of your pie. In this instance I decided to cut leaf shapes with a pastry cutter to cover my pie.
5. Brush the top with milk and sprinkle some brown sugar before placing it in the oven,
6. Allow to bake for approximately 40-45 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Leave to cool slightly and serve warm!

DSC_0749

DSC_0781

DSC_0813

DSC_0840

This pie would seriously go great with vanilla ice cream or custard!

If you tried this or my other gooseberry recipe out please let me know! Tag me on instagram @cakesthebiscuit and hashtag #cakesthebiscuit or follow and tweet me @cakes_biscuit.

In separate news, In case you haven’t noticed I’ve added a new tab in my menu entitled “Writing”. I love writing science fiction and adventure so if you like reading you should check it out!

9 comments on “Gooseberry Pie

  1. Oh, my…this looks so good! I absolutely love pie, and it’s true that it doesn’t get much recognition in the media (compared with yogurt wth?). Anyway, I want gooseberry pie! 😛

    Like

    • Hahaha what a novel question. I had not even thought about the way one would pronounce it… I just said it out loud to my self and I guess it’s “goose-berries” for me! Don’t take my word though, I didn’t even realise they were growing in my garden 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have never had Gooseberries. I would love to try them. I have been away from the bloggy world but I have returned. I did not have wifi all summer. I am just now starting to post about my Summer Whirlwind of fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

