Double Chocolate and Macadamia Nut Cookies

I love chocolate. Couple that with the fact that I’m pretty sure I was the Cookie Monster in my previous life, and my love for chocolate cookies is infinitely obvious. If I ever stumble across a freshly baked batch of chocolate cookies, one of two things would happen… I’d eat them all until they were gone, or I’d eat myself into a diabetic coma, whichever occurred first. To me there is no such things as too much chocolate. So when I first stumbled across this recipe, I immediately fell in what can only described as true chocolate bliss. I have since tweaked this recipe  depending on my mood but alway come back to it whenever I am in need of a chocolate cookie fix.

I really advocate investing in a good well sourced organic cocoa

Though it calls for macadamia nuts, as I state in my previous recipe this can be substituted for other nuts such as hazelnuts or pistachio’s, both of which I have used in alternate versions of this recipe. However it is the texture and unique crunch of macadamia nuts that always draw me back to the original recipe. When it comes to cocoa I whole heartedly believe that this is something that really affects the texture and taste of the cookie, so though any powdered cocoa in your pantry would work well, I really advocate investing in a good well sourced organic cocoa. You can almost immediately taste the difference, from many over processed sugar filled versions. Personally I always use Green & Blacks Organic cocoa because it’s true to it’s chocolate taste without you needing to use copious amounts.  A small 125g tub has lasted me for a good while despite it being used in numerous recipes. DSC_0004

Is it cookie time yet?

Prep time is around 15 minutes
Cooking time is approximately 15minutes
This recipe should yield around 16 walnut sized cookies, but you can make more (or less) depending on the size you roll them.

INGREDIENTS
115g unsalted butter, softened
60g icing sugar
100g plain flour
20g cocoa 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
75g white chocolate, roughly chopped
25g macadamia nuts

METHOD
Start by preheating your oven to 180°c, gas mark 4. Line a baking tray with baking parchment and grease sparingly with some butter.
1. Cream together the butter and icing sugar, until the mixture is a pale yellow.
2. In a separate bowl sift together the flour and cocoa until well integrated.
3. Add to the creamed ingredients along with the vanilla extract.
4. Stir in the white chocolate and macadamia nuts.
5. Dust your hands with a little cocoa powder to stop the mixture from sticking and roll walnut sized balls before placing them onto your greased baking tray. The cookies will spread a little when baking so make sure to leave adequate room between them on the baking tray.
6. Bake for 15 minute (or until cooked through) then remove the tray form the oven. leave the cookies to cool for a couple of minute on the tray to avoid them braking up when you transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely. DSC_0011 

DSC_0020

The only thing that’s left is to pour yourself a tall glass of a chilled milk of your choice and enjoy! A great tip is to save your old coffee jars once finished, to reuse into cookie jars. Their air tight top is perfect for keeping your cookie fresh and crunchy.

As always I would love to see how your cookies from this recipe turned out so follow me on instagram @cakesthebiscuit and hashtag #cakesthebiscuit or follow and tweet me @cakes_biscuit.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

